See You Later, Alligator by William F. Buckley, Jr.

See You Later, Alligator by William F. Buckley, Jr.

Click the image above to zoom in

Blackford Oakes meets up with Che Guevara in a desperate attempt to mend relations with Cuba

From his first day in office, President Kennedy has been bedeviled by Cuba. The CIA forced the Bay of Pigs invasion down his throat, resulting in lost lives, international embarrassment, and a new low in America’s relationship with the Caribbean. More than anything, Kennedy wants Cuba contained. Brute force didn’t work; it’s time to try a subtler approach—and there is no spy more tactful than Blackford Oakes.

The CIA calls it Operation Alligator: a top secret back-channel negotiation to put Cuba and the United States on better footing. Oakes goes south to meet with Castro’s right-hand man, the notorious Che Guevara, in hopes of finding common ground between their countries. Instead, he discovers a sinister Communist plot that could destabilize the hemisphere, and lead the US president to his doom.

See You Later, Alligator is the 6th book in the Blackford Oakes Mysteries, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.

“The suspense is keen and complicated.” —The Wall Street Journal on Who’s on First

“Some of the best spy fictions in print.” —

“Each novel crackles with ideas. . . . Mr. Buckley asks ‘What if,’ . . . which is very easy, and manages meanwhile to keep us absorbed, which is very hard.” —The New York Times

Buy this book from one of the following online retailers:

Buy from Amazon

Buy from iTunes

Buy from Barnes & Noble

Buy from Google

Buy from Kobo

Click here to find more books and exclusive content