Reed Farrel Coleman

Aliases: Tony Spinosa

Reed Farrel Coleman

Reed Farrel Coleman (b. 1956) is a mystery author best known for creating the Moe Prager series. Under his own name and the pen name Tony Spinosa, he has published fourteen novels, beginning with Life Goes Sleeping (1991), which introduced the three-volume Dylan Klein series. In 2001, Coleman published Walking the Perfect Square, a gritty story about Moe Prager, a retired New York cop who becomes embroiled in the hunt for a missing college student.

Since then, he has written six more novels starring Prager, most recently Hurt Machine (2011). Coleman has won three Shamus awards in the best detective novel category, and has been nominated several times for Edgar awards. Coleman lives with his family on Long Island, where he teaches writing classes at Hofstra University. You can find his website at this link

“One of the most daring writers around. . . . He writes the books we all aspire to.” —Ken Bruen

“Reed Farrel Coleman makes claim to a unique corner of the private detective genre.” —Michael Connelly

“One of the more original voices to emerge from the crime fiction field in the last ten years.” —George Pelecanos

Tags: Bibliomysteries, Reed Farrel Coleman

Books by this author